Ok… I lied!

So much for cold sheep, There have been a few stash enhancements this week. More on that later.

Finished Objects

Yay, the Man socks of doom are finally off the needles.

20160516_205608[1]

They are Sunrise Socks by Wendy D Johnson, I knitted them on 2.25mm Knitpro Nova needles and the yarn is Debbie Bliss Rialto Luxury sock in the Weather colourway.

The pattern was lovely to work, just enough pattern to keep me interested but I didn’t need to follow the pattern line by line so they made great waiting in the car socks. The yarn was also lovely to use, although as a continental knitter I had to make sure I worked from the correct end of the ball as it easily unplyed when knitted from the wrong end.

SO why the man socks of doom… well, first there is the size, while only a couple of inches longer in the foot than socks I knit for myself, they seemed to take forever to knit. Secondly, I found the colours boring to look at, the yarn itself is a lovely colour, but it is much more muted than I usually choose. The Mr will just have to get used to wearing bright socks if he wants any more.

WIPS

The Caramel cardigan has only had a little love this week, and has now been put into hibernation. While is it a lovely knit, I’m lacking motivation to knit a worsted weight cardigan in the lovely sunshine we’ve had this week. 20160517_095734[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Projects

I’ve cast on some new socks, these are vanilla socks in some yarn from my stash that has lost its band so I’m not sure what it is.

20160522_042631[1]

I decided to try something new with this pair, as you can see they are being worked on 23cm (9″) Hiya Hiya sharps, rather than my usual magic loop method. I’m still undecided on whether I like the small cable or not, I’m delaying making a judgement until I’ve completed the whole pair on them.

I also finally got around to casting on Waiting for Rain by Sylvia Bo Bilvia.20160522_042946[1]20160522_042954[1].jpg

I love love love this pattern, It is really well written, with an additional file for how to hack the pattern/add stripes/change the size etc.

 

 

I’m using Knitpro nova needles in 4mm. The yarn is Debbie Bliss Rialto 4ply, which is 100% superwash merino the colourway is French Blue, and the colourful accents are knitted in Lollipop Guild Yarns nylon platinum sock yarn,which is 75% merino 25% nylon in the colourway Dance your cares away, which was in the Fraggle Rock mystery box.

 

Stash Enhancements

Ok, so I know I said I was going on a yarn diet but I went to explore a LYS that I’d never been to before and it would have been rude not to buy something.

The LYS was stitch Solihull, I happened to arrive in time for the Stitch and Sip group and received a lovely warm welcome and a cuppa, what’s not to love.

Purchase number 1. 

20160522_042431[1].jpg

I’ve been wanting some of this for a while, and when I saw it in this colour (the colour I’m planning on making my hair next) I just had to have it. Fyberspates Scrumptious, 45% Silk 55% SW Merino, in the Magenta colourway.

Purchase number 2. 

20160522_042412[1]

West Yorkshire Spinners Aire Valley DK. 75% wool, 25% nylon in the Mojito colourway. Part of the cocktails collection. This will become bright cheerful socks to wear with my Dr Martin boots next winter.

Purchase number 3. 

20160522_042521[1].jpg

The fabric stash also had a boost while at Stitch Solihull, I have plans to make this into a project bag when I’m having a good few days and can sit at the sewing machine.

Purchase number 4.  

20160522_042755[1].jpgKnit night at Sitting Knitting led to the purchase of some Debbie Bliss Rialto 4ply merino in French Blue, this has already been cast on as the waiting for rain shawl.

 

 

 

 

Purchase number 5. 

What good is all this yarn without a project bag to keep it in…

 

Made by Colourful Bags, it is lined with gorgeous purple spotty fabric with a peacock print pocket inside.
20160522_055139[1]

 

Random Ramblings

If you’ve made it this far thank you, it’s been a long one this week.

I know a lot of yarnies feel guilty when splurging on new stash, but I refuse to feel bad. I love every single thing I buy and the joy I get from it is worth every penny.  My crappy physical health doesn’t allow me to do a lot of the things I used to love doing, so the fact I’ve found a hobby I love that I can still do is a major boost to my mental health.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

